
 

 

Put the Phone Away or Pay. Distracted Driving Talking Points 

We invite you to use the following talking points to help easily share the dangers of distracted driving. If 

you would like any additional information, please email us at dottrafficgrp@nd.gov. 

 

Distraction – taking your eyes, hands or mental attention away from driving – is a common contributing 

factor in most motor vehicle crashes and near crashes. (Vision Zero ND - Distracted Driving) 

In North Dakota in 2023, there were 865 crashes related to distracted driving included two fatal crashes 

and 30 serious injury crashes. 

 

According to National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 3,275 people nationwide were 

killed in motor vehicle crashes involving distracted drivers in 2023. (the most recent year of data 

available). 

Texting while driving multiplies the chance of a vehicle crash by 23x. Park your phone and just drive. 

(Vision Zero ND - Distracted Driving) 

Sending one text at 55 mph is like driving the length of a football field blind. Designate a PT (personal 

texter) and avoid the distractions. (Vision Zero ND - Distracted Driving) 

Texting drivers are six times more likely to crash than a drunk driver. Survive the drive and drive 

distraction-free. (Vision Zero ND - Distracted Driving) 

Because text messaging requires visual, manual and cognitive attention from the driver, it is by far one of 

the most dangerous distractions. (NHTSA) 

Text messaging is prohibited for all drivers, and drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using any 

electronic communications devices, including cell phones. This law carries a $100 citation and went into 

effect August 1, 2011. (Vision Zero ND - Distracted Driving) 

While this enforcement campaign will focus on texting while driving, North Dakota’s texting while driving 

law also include distracted driving, which means any distraction that impairs the ability to safely operate a 

vehicle. If you’re distracted while driving and commit a traffic violation, you can be given a $100 citation 

for distracted driving. (Vision Zero ND - Distracted Driving) 
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