

Put the Phone Away or Pay. Distracted Driving Talking Points

We invite you to use the following talking points to help easily share the dangers of distracted driving. If you would like any additional information, please email us at dottrafficgrp@nd.gov.

Distraction - taking your eyes, hands or mental attention away from driving - is a common contributing factor in most motor vehicle crashes and near crashes. (*Vision Zero*)

In North Dakota in 2022, 945 crashes related to distracted driving included seven fatalities and 30 serious injuries. (NDDOT 2022 Crash Summary)

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), 3,522 people nationwide were killed in motor vehicle crashes involving distracted drivers in 2021. (the most recent year of data available). (NHTSA)

Texting while driving multiplies the chance of a vehicle crash by 23x. Park your phone and just drive. (*Vision Zero*)

Sending one text at 55 mph is like driving the length of a football field blind. Designate a PT (personal texter) and avoid the distractions. (*Vision Zero*)

Texting drivers are 6 times more likely to crash than a drunk driver. Survive the drive and drive distraction-free. (Vision Zero)

Because text messaging requires visual, manual and cognitive attention from the driver, it is by far one of the most dangerous distractions. (NHTSA Distracted Driving)

Text messaging is prohibited for all drivers, and drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using any electronic communications devices, including cell phones. This law carries a \$100 citation and went into effect August 1, 2011. (Vision Zero)

While this enforcement campaign will focus on texting while driving, North Dakota's texting while driving law also include distracted driving, which means any distraction that impairs the ability to safely operate a vehicle. If you're distracted while driving and commit a traffic violation, you can be given a \$100 citation for distracted driving. (*Vision Zero*)