to the top of the page

  Home  »  Press Releases »  

Law Enforcement to Participate in U Drive. U Text. U Pay.

Law Enforcement to Participate in U Drive. U Text. U Pay.

For Immediate Release: Aug 27 2018
Statewide, ND – Starting September 4 through the end of the month, law enforcement agencies in North Dakota will participate in the statewide U Drive. U Text. U Pay. campaign to make our roads safer by enforcing the ban on texting while driving. Texting drivers are six-times more likely to crash than a drunk driver.

Composing, reading or sending any electronic message or using a communications device to access the Internet while driving is illegal and punishable with a fine of $100. The law applies to any driver of a vehicle in a traffic lane, even while stopped at a red light or in a construction zone.

Drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using any electronic communications device, including cell phone.  For 14- and 15-year-olds, this law carries a $20 fine and 4 points on a driver’s record. For 16-and 17-year-olds, this law carries a $20 fine and no points on the driver’s record.

Cell phone operating systems Apple and Android have “do not disturb while driving” settings available to help limit distractions while driving. To learn more about how to enable these features for your phone, search “how to enable do not disturb while driving” in your internet browser.

This campaign is part of the Vision Zero strategy to eliminate motor vehicle crash fatalities and serious injuries on North Dakota roads.

Visit the North Dakota Crash Memorial wall to view memorials built on the hope of preventing another death on North Dakota roads.

Bismarck Region
Dickinson Region
Devils Lake Region
Fargo Region
Grand Forks Region
Jamestown Region
Minot Region
Williston Region
 
###

Lead Agencies:

ND State Highway Patrol
ND DOT
ND Department of Health