to the top of the page

  Home  »  Strategies »  

Speed & Aggressive Driving

Speeding is deadly driving.

Nearly 200 people have died in speed-related crashes in North Dakota over the past five years (2013-2017).

The North Dakota statewide goal of zero fatalities and serious injuries caused by motor vehicle crashes comes down to the choices drivers make behind the wheel. All too often, drivers make the wrong choice by trying to pass slower traffic or drive too fast for road conditions. Every driver and vehicle occupant in North Dakota needs to take personal responsibility for their actions while travelling in order to help the state achieve the zero goal.
 
Speeding and/or driving too fast for road conditions has been a factor in about
one-third of fatal crashes in North Dakota each year.

                                           

 

North Dakota Speeding Law

Section CC Offense Violation Fee Points
39-09-01 Moving Careless driving in violation of basic rule $30.00 6
39-09-01.1 Moving Care required in operating vehicle $30.00 2
39-09-02 Moving Exceeded speed limit (fee as provided) Varies Varies
39-09-02(1b) Moving Exceeded speed limit in school zone (fee as provided) $40+ Varies
39-09-02(2) Moving Exceeded speed limit in construction zone (with signs & workers present) $80+ Varies
39-09-04.1 Moving Drove in excess of special speed limitations $20 0
39-09-09 Moving Impeding traffic or operating slower than minimum posted speed $20 0

Fees and points may vary. Learn more about North Dakota's speeding law here.

Speeding is defined as driving in excess of the posted speed limit and/or driving too fast for conditions and can have dangerous consequences including:

  • Reducing a driver’s ability to negotiate curves or maneuver around obstacles in the roadway (i.e. a child or animal crossing the road in school zones or neighborhoods).
  • Extending the distance traveled before a vehicle can stop.
  • Increasing the distance a vehicle travels while the driver reacts to a hazard.
  • Increasing the risk of crashes and injuries because other vehicles and pedestrians may not be able to judge distance accurately.

What can you do?

  • Obey speed limits and drive according to road conditions – this may mean driving below the posted speed limit.
  • Think ahead. The stopping distance at 20 mph is about 60 feet. At 65 mph, you may travel 450 feet or more before stopping.
  • Be a good example. An aggressive driver is not a safe driver. An impatient driver is not a safe driver.
  • Know the road conditions and adjust your speed accordingly.
Speeding isn't just aggressive driving, it's deadly driving.
Stop speeding before it stops you.

Lead Agencies:

ND State Highway Patrol
ND DOT
ND Department of Health