Vision Zero - Zero fatalities. Zero excuses.

to the top of the page

Image to go along with Seat Belts

Seat Belts

Law enforcement from across the state will have extra patrols from May 20 to June 2 for the Click It or Ticket campaign enforcing the state seat belt law.

In North Dakota, not wearing a seat belt continues to be the number one contributing factor of motor vehicle crash fatalities. The North Dakota Department of Transportation’s campaign focuses on the importance of buckling up. There are a million excuses why people don't wear their seat belt, but none of them will keep you alive. This campaign was created around the Vision Zero strategy.

learn more
Image to go along with Impaired Driving

Impaired Driving

Taylor Berhow of Mandan, ND, chose to drive after drinking alcohol. With that choice, Taylor killed three of his best friends who were passengers in his vehicle. Every alcohol and drug-related crash is 100% preventable. As a driver, you have the personal responsibility to make the choice to always drive sober or to designate a sober driver.

learn more
Image to go along with Child Passenger Safety

Child Passenger Safety

"Good enough" is not good enough when installing your car seat. Find a car seat checkup event in your area to make sure you're using the correct seat for your child's age, weight and height, it's installed correctly, and your child is secured as per the car seat instructions.

learn more
Image to go along with Distracted Driving

Distracted Driving

Composing, reading, or sending any electronic message or using a communications device to access the Internet while driving is illegal in North Dakota for drivers of all ages, and is punishable with a fine of $100. The law applies to any driver of a vehicle in a traffic lane, even while stopped at a red light or in a construction zone. Additionally, drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using any electronic communications devices, including cell phones, unless in an emergency. For 14 and 15 year-olds, this law carries a $20 fine and 4 points on the driver’s record. For 16 and 17 year-olds, this law carries a $20 fine and no points on the driver’s record.

learn more
Previous Next
May 23, 2019
Bismarck, N.D.- The North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT) and the North Dakota Highway Patrol (NDHP) is reminding drivers to take personal responsibility when travelling, as we enter the busy summer travel season that begins Memorial Day
May 13, 2019
Statewide.- The North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT) and the North Dakota Highway Patrol want to remind drivers ahead of the Memorial Day holiday there are a million excuses to not buckle up, but not one of them will save your life. Law
May 9, 2019
Statewide – In an effort to save lives, law enforcement agencies across the state worked overtime in April for the nationwide distracted driving enforcement campaign, U Drive. U Text. U Pay.   A total of 322 citations were attributed to


Vision Zero is a strategy to eliminate motor vehicle crash fatalities and serious injuries.

The goal of zero fatalities is not only attainable, but also vital. When it comes to your life, or the lives of your family and friends, is any other number acceptable? We’re aiming for zero fatalities because every life matters.

2019 North Dakota Vehicle Fatalities to Date
33

Crash Memorial Wall

An online space to safely honor someone you love who
lost their life on a North Dakota road.

Do you have a traffic safety message you would like to see on the digital signs along the interstate? Then submit your suggestion here!

submit your DMS message

Lead Agencies:

ND State Highway Patrol
ND DOT
ND Department of Health