to the top of the page

  Home  »  Strategies »  Infrastructure »  

Safety Corridors

Safety Corridors - A New Approach to Vision Zero

The North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT) introduced Safety Corridors in 2019 as part of North Dakota's Vision Zero strategy to reduce motor vehicle fatalities and serious injuries to zero.

What is a Safety Corridor?

A safety corridor is a designated section of highway that includes enhanced safety features and an increase in law enforcement to remind drivers that they are responsible for obeying all traffic laws and posted speed limits.

The Safety Corridor locations are selected based on highways with a higher number of vehicle crashes. The purpose is to utilize engineering and technological solutions to change dangerous driving behavior and reduce the number of crashes on state highways.

Safety Corridors are a Vision Zero solution in which Engineering, Enforcement, Emergency Response and Education work together to help reach Vision Zero's goal.
Safety Corridors are one way we'll get to the goal of
Vision Zero...Zero Fatalities. Zero Excuses.


What does it mean for drivers?

A driver may notice additional signage indicating reduced speed, no-passing zones, information about road conditions, and reminders to buckle up, drive sober and distraction free. In addition to these signs, pavement markings will be more visible, especially in dark or wet conditions. Law enforcement will pay close attention to the Safety Corridors to ensure all traffic safety laws and posted speed limits are followed by motorists.

Where are the Safety Corridors?

Safety Corridors are located at the following locations:

  • US 85 Watford City to ND 68: 14-mile Safety Corridor
  • US 52 Brooks Junction to Velva: 35-mile Safety Corridor
  • US 83 Bismarck to Washburn: 36-mile Safety Corridor
  • US 85 Belfield to Watford City: 70-mile Safety Corridor